Snacking on the go

I find that I am constantly in a bind to eat healthy on the go. As a student, I am often able to squeeze in a work out between classes. It is great to be able to mentally reset before class begins again, however, I find I run into the same dilemma every time: What do I eat on the go? Whether you are a athlete, a student squeezing work outs into your class schedule, a busy mom on the go, or maybe a little bit of all three, I decided I would share my top 10, easy, grab and go snacks for you to eat on the run.

1. Almonds. At any given time, I usually have a snack sized bag on me. Nuts and especially almonds are rich in healthy monosaturated fats and packed with protein!

2. Yogurt. Although you have to carry a lunch box to keep this snack cool, yogurt is a great post work out or mid day pick me up. In the 6oz Plain Fage yogurt cup, there are 100 calories, 18 grams of protein and 7 grams of sugar. With Greek yogurt, each brand varies slightly in their protein to sugar ratios but I have found I enjoy the texture and tast of Fage the best 🙂

3.I try to stay away from “Granola Bars” because most of the time, the ‘healthy low calorie’ snack they are selling you is full of complex sugars and saturated fats. I have found that many of the granola bars sold are no better than grabbing a Twix bar. With that said, when I do grab a granola bar, I like to eat KIND brand granola bars and Kashi brand bars. I am no organic grub, but the KIND brand’s company mission is to provide a granola bar with ingredients you can pronounce. If you have ever looked at a nutritional label, you understand. Kashi is similar and sold in a wider range of stores than I have been able to find the KIND bars, so I bounce between buying the two.

4. Fruit. As much as I love to eat fruit, I love, even more, that I can throw it in my gym bag. Bananas, Apples and Oranges all make for great gym bag or purse throws and obviously make a great choice for an on the go snack.

5. Hard boiled eggs. These are convenient if you boil a dozen at the beginning of the week At about 70 calories, eggs are a great high protein, low calorie snack.

6. Whole wheat tortilla/bread and hummus.

7. Rice cake and peanut butter. I can’t be the only person to thoroughly enjoy this, am I?

8. My sister introduced me to this one.. Tuna, avocado, and lemon juice. It’s a spin on tuna salad that replaces (bad) saturated fat filled mayo with a monosaturated (good) fat avocado!

9. Not a Greek yogurt fan? Try Greek yogurt dip with veggies. Season 1/4 cup Greek yogurt with salt, pepper, 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice,  1/4 teaspoon lemon zest, 1 tablespoon chopped fresh herbs (dill, basil, cilantro or oregano) OR just buy those ranch flavor packets and dump one in.. A 1/2 cup of the yogurt dip is the same calorie content as 2 tbsp of ranch dip.. Higher in protein.. and lower in fat.

10. Chopped apples with drizzled honey and cinnamon. Usually I just toss all of this into some tupperware and pack a fork. Messy, but good

Happy Snacking!!

Leave a comment